Know Georgia Auto Insurance Rules

Auto Insurance Minimums for Georgia

If you plan on driving in Georgia, you must carry auto insurance. Of the six million drivers in the Peach State, about 12 percent do not have coverage. Don’t let yourself be a statistic; get an auto insurance quote in the amount of 25/50/25. In Georgia, you risk losing your driving privileged for up to 90 days if you are caught without insurance. By getting an auto insurance quote or proof of insurance you may be able to get your suspension revoked. But getting it annulled means having to pay a registration fee for the vehicle you were operating at the time of citation.

If you have not had constant coverage for 10 days or more, you can be obligated to pay a $25 lapse fee to coincide with a $60 reinstatement fee before you can even renew your Georgia plates; for repeat offenders, your fee will likely increase in the amount of $160. In Georgia, those found to be driving with suspended registration are charged with a misdemeanor. So do not risk driving without coverage, take precautions by getting an auto insurance quote, and you will be happy you did.

Georgia DUI Law

If you are caught drinking and driving in Georgia, you will face a conviction—even if you are under the influence of prescription medication. Furthermore, if you refuse to take a sobriety test, under the state’s implied consent law you will face an automatic license suspension for one year.

The blood alcohol concentration level limit in the state of Georgia is 0.08%, although if you are caught with a BAC of 0.15% or higher you could even harsher charges.  Drinking and driving may also raise your auto insurance quotes in the long run, because insurance companies will see you as a high risk driver with a history of recklessness on the road.

Georgia Teen Driving Laws/Auto Insurance Requirements

In order to begin Georgia’s Graduated Licensing program (GDL), teens must be at least 15 years of age to obtain a learner’s permit. After this they must hold the permit for a year without incident, and during that time they must complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving with a guardian or adult.

DUI laws in Georgia state that it is against the law for any teen to drive with a BAC of 0.02% or higher. If a teen is caught drinking and driving, they may face license suspension for up to 90 days.

Teens must drive with the Georgia state minimum liability coverage. However, it is strongly advisable for teens to drive with more coverage than the minimum amount. Teens can lower their auto insurance premiums by maintaining a B average in school and completing a state approved driver safety program.

Other Information:

https://www.carinsurancecheap.net/car-insurance-in-georgia