Auto Insurance Minimums for Florida
Florida residents must carry a ratio of 10/20/10 liability auto insurance: $10,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per person injured; $20,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per accident; $10,000 of Property Damage coverage per accident. With more than 10 percent of all drivers in this state without insurance coverage, it may be in your benefit to get an online auto insurance quote to ensure more than your car, but your livelihood too.
If you drive without insurance in the state of Florida, you will face penalties. Under Florida’s Financial Responsibility Law, you must be covered with the state’s minimum liability requirement if you face a DUI, if you cause a crash that results in injury, and if you have your license revoked for too many traffic violations. If you are caught without insurance, your future car insurance quotes will rise as well.
Florida DUI Law
Florida follows an “implied consent” law: that is, when you get your driver’s license in this state, you are agreeing to submit to an alcohol and drug test if you are pulled over for any reason, of if an officer suspects you are driving under the influence. To refuse to take this test will result a license suspension for up to a year.
The blood alcohol concentration level limit in the state of Florida is 0.08%, although if you are caught with a BAC of 0.15% or higher you could even harsher charges. Drinking and driving may also raise your auto insurance quotes in the long run, because insurance companies will see you as a high risk driver with a history of recklessness on the road.
Florida Teen Driving Laws/Auto Insurance Requirements
In order to begin the Graduated Licensing program (GDL), teens in Florida must be at least 15 years of age and no older than 16 in order to obtain a learner’s license. After achieving this license, they must complete at least fifty hours of supervised driving, including ten hours at night. They must also hold the learner’s restricted license for one year. At 16-17 a teen may then apply for a Class E restricted license.
DUI laws in Florida state that it is against the law for any teen to drive with a BAC of 0.02% or higher. If a teen is caught drinking and driving, they may face license suspension for up to 90 days.
Teens must drive with the Florida state minimum liability coverage. However, it is strongly advisable for teens to drive with more coverage than the minimum amount. Teens can lower their auto insurance premiums by maintaining a B average in school and completing a state approved driver safety program.